in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

7-30-02 // 11.12 am

there's a whisper I'd like to breathe into your ear

NP: Wilco - "Summerteeth"

Waiting for test scripts to finish running, waiting for my coworker to analyze everything, to attempt to work out the few remaining errors we get when we run the things. This is sort of how my job operates...everything is frantic, there's tons of things to do, and then suddenly -- you have to wait, there's this down time that just floats around. I mean, not that I'm complaining, but it's an odd dynamic.

Watched a brilliant sunset last night. We pulled the blinds on the window behind the bed that faces northwest. Scattered across the sky was an assortment of chicken strip shaped clouds. As the sun set, the clouds changed from an unearthly firey pink to a solemn slate gray. The sky behind the clouds was this light blue color, seemingly straight out of a jumbo box of crayons, rather than something produced by natural means. As the sun went down, the sky slowly turned back to its normal dusky color. But the whole process was incredible, it felt like a show put on just for us. It made me put my arm around Erin and hope (even though I know I can't do anything to freeze the passage of time) that the moment could last a bit longer.

I'm sure I've mentioned this already, but I'm officially burned out on summer. Well, I'm sick of long, hot days. Evenings that seem to linger forever are a nice touch, and I'm eager to hang on to those for as long as possible. But the glary, steamy, ridiculous days? Please go away. Right now I'm in the mood for one of those days where low, gray clouds just hang over everything. A cool wind would be nice, as would a bit of rain. I mean, we get thunderstorms once in a while, but they roar through and then they're gone. I want some of that to linger for a bit, you know?

I really wish the people who run the excellent Chinese delivery place near our apartment would come back from vacation. They're either back now or will be back by this Friday. I think. Either way, they need to return, and soon. I need my chicken with snow peas, or broccoli beef. And I'm sure Erin is craving the hot braised chicken. Not to mention the crab rangoon. Mmm...rangoon.

OK, now I've gotta run...work is being fist-clenchingly difficult at the moment.

then / now