in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-1-02 // 9.12 am

may the wind take your troubles away

NP: Son Volt - "Trace"

On my drive to work this morning, as I got to downtown, before I crossed the bridge, clouds just seemed to come out of nowhere. Not just any clouds, though, but these big, gray, extremely low clouds. At first I thought it was pollution, but upon further observation, they turned out to be actual clouds. In any case, these things were hanging so low...they swallowed up the top of the Arch and the taller skyscrapers. As I drove on, the clouds started to cover up the entire sky. At one point, they were stretched across everything like gauze...all I could see above them was the circle of the sun. No rays, no brilliant blaze like usual, but just the plain, semi-bright circle. As I pulled into the parking lot, gray clouds had moved in completely.

Went to the bank yesterday and discovered that there was more money in my savings account than I thought. See, I'm one of those people who don't actually balance their bank accounts. I usually just keep a running total in my head of how much is where, what my debits have been, etc. Sure, it'd probably be more accurate to actually write all of this information down, but hey...

I wanted to listen to a tape this morning, but my car tape deck is acting up a bit. I'll have to get my dealer to check it out next time I take the car in for an oil change or whatever. In any case, I was forced to listen to yet another morning of radio. If I hear one more set of talk show goons yapping on about that damn "American Idol" show, I'm going to...well, do something. Not sure what that is yet, but it's extremely annoying. I don't care about "reality TV"...in fact, it kind of saddens me that this is what people are talking about. Not actual news, nothing like that. Oh well.

Spent just about all of yesterday evening out. Nowhere terribly exciting, just shopping and Denny's, but it was nice. We hadn't really been out of the apartment on a weekday evening for some time, so yeah. I think tonight we're supposed to meet Ed at the world's tastiest Chinese buffet, which will be cool.

I'm kind of tired this morning. Been a bit tired the past few days, actually. Worn out...I think that's more accurate. I've been getting fatigued earlier than I usually do. What I'm really looking forward to is totally crashing and resting up this weekend. I mean, seriously...just tell people "I'm sorry, we can't go out, we can't do anything" for two whole days. I think we need and deserve a few days to completely recharge. 'Cause I know that no matter how tired I am, Erin is likely even more so.

I can't stand when I accidentally hit the caps lock key, don't notice I've done so, then not understand why none of my passwords or commands work correctly. I'm such a spaz sometimes. Well, all of the time.

I have a peer review this afternoon for my code and test plans. Things aren't completely done, I mean, there's still more rounds of testing (not that I'm directly involved in those, but I have to fix any errors or address any issues that arise because of it), and other various project related things, but for the most part, it's beginning to wind down. Thankfully.

Speaking of work, yesterday we had this "diversity celebration" sort of thing. It, like many other corporate-mandated office events, involved ice cream. But yeah, this "diversity" thing. I'm not entirely sure what it was meant to accomplish. Well, I think it was supposed to show something like "hey, I guess we really are all from different backgrounds, places, etc". But really, it was a bit embarassing, considering the fact that my office is almost exclusively populated with white men. Also, when we entered the room for this event, we had to head over to a big posterboard with a map of the USA on it. We were supposed to find the pin with our name on it and then stick it on the place where we were born or where we grew up. I suppose this was also supposed to illustrate that people come from all over, and so on...but once everyone had put up their pins, it was hilariously evident that like 4 out of 5 people came from Illinois, and most of those within an hour or two of the work location. I dunno, it wasn't much of a "diversity celebration". But at least I got vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup on out of the deal.

OK, no more talk about work. I promise. It's just that I'm usually there (here?) when I write in this thing, so...

I could listen to this album about a million times in a row. I'm in a good mood today, though I could really do with it being Friday afternoon right this very second.

then / now