in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-5-01 // 8.56 pm

travel way downtown in search of nothing but the sky at night

NP: Roxy Music - "Avalon"

The last four or five days have been good. I mean, really good. My state of mind has been reset. Shaken clean like an etch-a-sketch.

I finally got a hold of Sarah K on Wednesday during my lunch break. She had Thurs. afternoon off, so she told me to stop on by. So on my way up, I did just that. Simply put, it was great to see her, to hug her, to hear her voice, to laugh with her. She showed me her new place, her new job, and we just spend the afternoon hanging around, popping in and out of shops, and talking. She really is the coolest chick I know.

The rest of the trip was similarly great. Spent most of the time just hanging around suburbia with S.P. and Hinge...we went to the movies one evening, drove around some, went swimming. Saturday we took the train into the city. Walked around everywhere, up to the north side and then almost out to Wrigleyville. Though our feet protested eventually and we took the El for the remaining few blocks. The city rules.

The only bad part of the weekend: whilst driving up I-55, I kept hearing a rattling noise coming from underneat my car. The exhaust sounded louder, too. That spelled bad news. So I took an exit and parked to take a look at things. Sure enough, the tailpipe had rusted through right where it meets the muffler. The muffler itself was sort of half hanging on, as well. So now that I'm back home, I'm going to have to get that replaced...but oh well. See, even that didn't bring me down this weekend. Rock on.

Oh, and before I go, it must be said...I fucking love vinyl. I still think CDs sound better, but LPs are the most aesthetically pleasing thing on earth...save an attractive girl.

then / now