in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-7-02 // 10.54 am

the sun, the fields, the sky

NP: Live - "Throwing Copper"

I'm currently sitting here at my desk, waiting for the (extremely lengthy) tests I'm running to finish, and otherwise being bored out of my skull. Ugh. This is just one of those days...I'm bored, I'm tired, and it's the most gorgeous day out in like two months and I'm stuck inside at this desk. If I didn't actually have work to take care of, and if Erin could've gotten time off, I'd have so just called in and used a vacation day today.

I've actually been rather tired this week, in general. Not entirely sure why, to be honest. I've been getting a good amount of sleep and such. Though for whatever reason, I keep waking up tired, with heavy eyes, and stiff muscles. My back was kind of stiff the other day, yesterday it was my legs, and this morning, it's my upper back and shoulders. Odd.

Erin and I are meeting up with Mt. Vernon Julie this evening. We're also trying to get Ryan to come along, but I'm not sure if he'll be able to make it. Getting in touch with him can be tough, plus I think he's usually kind of busy on Wednesday night. But who knows...it'd be nice to see him again.

The air conditioner in the bedroom got all wonky this morning. Air stopped coming out of the rightmost vent, and the air coming out of the other one was pretty weak. Though a quick cleaning of the filter later, and I think I had it running properly again. Which is good...the last thing I need in the middle of August is a broken AC.

I took Corona to the vet this morning. She was actually well behaved in the cat carrier (as opposed to last time she went in for shots), just stat there and looked around. I don't think she was scared or anything. Though she was really squirmy and climby when we got to the vet's office. They weighed her and then took her in. Operations are this afteroon, she has to stay overnight for observation, and then we can pick her up tomorrow afternoon. I know it's only a night, but it'll be weird not having a little kitty climbing all over us when we go to sleep tonight.

Last night, Erin wasn't feeling well, so she fell asleep really early. She was already in bed before the sun went down. Which was a shame, as she missed a spectacular sunset. Well, I didn't even actually see the sunset, but I did look out the picture window in the living room to see a deep orange light reflecting off the brick of all the other apartment buildings across the courtyard. It was so glowing, so heightened. I dunno, it was just a brief moment, but it was spectacular.

I can't believe how bored I am today...I just want this work day to end. Now. Hell, why not the working week while we're at it.

then / now