in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-8-01 // 12.03 am

how can I be heard in such a world when I am lost?

NP: Pet Shop Boys - "Bilingual"

Since St. Louis apparently isn't special enough to warrant "Ghost World" showing somewhere within the city, to hold me over I picked up the newest printing of the comic whilst at the Virgin megastore in Chicago.

Anyway...so I finally got around to reading the book tonight. I enjoyed it. Though Enid and Becky were not likeable characters, at least not for most of the story. They were the embodiment of every ironic, heartless, in-love-with-themselves girl I've ever met in my entire life. So instead of identifying with the main characters, I found myself sympathizing with minor characters like Josh, Bearded Windbreaker, and Bob Skeetes. The story's end was poignant, though, I liked that bit a lot. Let's hope the film version gets here at some point, I'm eager to see what the big screen translation is like.

Today my dad told me that my great uncle Kas died. I really didn't know him that well...not like I know my grandma's other brother. But still, I'm going to the wake on Thursday.

More car problems...now it's something with my front left tire. Perhaps a messed up bearing. Who knows. I'm getting it looked at tomorrow or the day after.

I'm tired. I'm going to bed.

then / now