in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-9-01 // 2.46 pm

I dive into a pool so cool and deep that if I sink I sink

I'm desperate for companionship. I'm jealous of people with someone to turn to. Public displays of affection, while fascinating, do nothing to bolster my attempts to convince myself that I'm doing alright. There's not a soul on this earth who would miss me if I weren't here.

The loud, bigoted, annoying, horrible man who sits in a cube in another corner of my office is driving me 100%, certifiably insane. I am about to go on a rampage. I am seriously at my wit's end here.

In the continuing adventures of car repair...the squeaking was brakes related. So fifty bucks later those were taken care of. Though it was also discovered that I'm going to need new front struts here before too long. So tomorrow morning I'm getting those taken care of. Another $100 gone. Oh well. At least the thing will be in top shape until I get rid of it early next year. It's been a good car overall, it's just getting old...13 years and 137,000 miles.

A little while ago at lunch, I got the worst fortune cookie fortune ever. And I quote: "Shopping expeditions should prove all you'd hoped for." What a revelation. Bastard cookie.

then / now