in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-9-01 // 11.37 pm

lost, invisible, here

NP: R.E.M. - "Reveal"

Just for the record, that first bit in the last entry was just a tad melodramatic. Not that I don't feel that way sometimes, though.

Went to the wake this evening. All the way out in St. Charles. It was somber but not too down. My grandma was pretty torn up...I mean, this was her older brother, I felt so bad for her. But everyone held their heads high & spoke of a kind man. A 'tough' Marine who was really just the biggest softy you could ever meet in your entire life. Everyone has a story about how emotional he was, how much he adored his family. I'm sad to say I never knew Cas like his more immediate relatives did, but I'm still proud to be related to a good man like that.

Speaking of relations, it was strange to see all these people I just barely know. People that share my genetic makeup, but who are, for all intensive purposes, total strangers. Or at the very least, very distant childhood memories. Walking into the funeral parlor was strange...people everywhere that sort of looked like me.

It's just been such a rushed & stressful day. Busy and annoying at work, traffic & street flooding on the drive home, long lines and poor service at the bank & the auto parts shop. Driving all over St. Louis tonight. I now have a few cold slices of leftover pizza and a beer in me. My body craves sleep. So sleep I shall.

then / now