in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-13-00 // 8.28 pm

the downtown lights

NP: The Blue Nile - "Hats". This is such a gorgeous, romantic record. It's unrequited love, a late night goodbye in the rain, sitting in a cafe at midnight, looking out the window at the streetlights music.

This afternoon I watched that Robin Williams movie "Bicentennial Man". It was rather good, actually. Parts were overly sentimental and schlocky, but it was much better than I thought everyone made it out to be.

I went for a walk an hour or two ago. I ended up being out for a whole hour, I must've walked three or four miles. I went all the way up Broadway starting at the riverfront and then went along the perimeter of the university campus. I tried to go to the gym earlier in the day, but I couldn't get in since it's not the fall semester yet. I wasn't about to pay for a summer membership only to use it for a week. It'll be nice to get back into a weightlifting routine again, I miss being able to get a full workout each day.

I finally got around to putting up all the wall decorations in my room: "Trainspotting" movie poster, huge Mansun "Six" subway poster, maps of the UK & London, Marillion "Seasons End" poster, and Fish "Vigil in a Wilderness of Mirrors" cover painting poster. Lookin' good if I do say so.

Last night, right around midnight, I was getting ready to go to bed. Right as I went to turn out the light, I heard something that sounded like a waterfall. I followed the sound and it was coming from the furnace closet in the hallway. I opened it up and water was falling from the ceiling! I put on my shoes, got in my car and drove over to the landlord's house. I woke him up and told him that there was water all over the hallway and in my little bathroom. It turns out that a plastic valve or cap or something burst on the toilet in the empty apartment above mine. So the landlord fixed it, and I proceeded to catch water in buckets and soak it up with towels. The landlord came by with a wet/dry vacuum and dried my carpet, thankfully. Then I went to sleep, about two hours after I had originally planned.

I think I'm going to go sit on my balcony for a bit and watch the sunset.

then / now