in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-14-02 // 10.35 am

I wanted to be magnificent

NP: IQ - "The Wake"

Another cup of coffee this morning. I'm not particularly tired, though. I think it has something to do with the weather...it's currently cool, breezy, and a bit rainy out there. The clouds are low, gray, and thick. It's like a late October day or something, albeit somewhat warmer. In any case, it's nice to be able to drink hot beverages again, it's nice to not be baked alive anytime you step outdoors.

I also just realized that this morning's musical selection is a very good accompaniment to the general look and feel of the weather and such at the moment.

There are currently two nearly middle aged men standing in the corridor behind me talking about some sort of online RPG. That sort of thing seems to happen a lot around here.

Erin and I are joining the gym in a few days, once we get paid. Not the YMCA like we'd orginally I'm looking forward to getting back into a regular exercise routine. Once we moved, I wanted to try to start a walking routine again, but the weather has just been too oppressive. So yeah, this is good.

Made tons of headway at work yesterday, which is good, considering I had quite a bit to do. It's also a good thing that I plowed through everything then, as today, I don't feel nearly as motivated. I think it's because of how much I got done yesterday, I've now bought myself time, and lessened my workload more than I was anticpating.

I've had this entry brewing for a while now, I keep writing bits of it, then going off to do some work, then coming back, etc.

Was at the mall last night, tracking down red, old-school Puma running shoes for Erin, and noticed this kid wearing a Dropkick Murphys shirt. Normally nothing noteworthy, but this kid looked about 8 years old. Also worth a mention is the kid (maybe about 13 or so?) coming out of Hot Topic wearing a Green Day "Kerplunk" shirt that he very obviously just bought off the racks. Made me laugh a bit, anyway. If you couldn't tell, the mall is a consistent source of amusement for me.

Oh, and check out the Smiths shirt that I'm getting. I mean, come on...Morrissey with black rimmed glassed on and a quote from one of my favorite Smiths songs on the back? How can I resist?

Alright, I'd better get moving. I wish it was this evening right now.

then / now