in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-16-02 // 9.23 am

she's filling time in on safeways on saturday

NP: Belle & Sebastian - "The Boy with the Arab Strap"

The server is all wacked out, so basically, nobody can do anything. I can log in but as for getting to any of the code? No. But you know what? I don't care. I'm in a good mood today. You know why? It's Friday. Finally. At the end of this working day, I can drive home, put on shorts and a t-shirt, eat pizza & drink beer, watch cartoons & baseball, and just relax. Completely and totally.

Barbecued last night at Erin's grandpa's house. It was lots of fun, except for the fact that within five minutes of being in the back yard, I had acquired about six or seven mosquito bites. It was a nice evening to be out there, though...especially around 9 or 10 o'clock when the breeze was blowing. It's clear nights like those when I like to just look up at the sky...I like to notice planes flying overhead, stealthily moving against the black, pinpricked sky.

People in my office have really weird laughs. This is something I suppose I've always been aware of, but never paid much attention to. Though, right now, like three of them are laughing in tandem...and it was a bit tough to ignore.

I think I've written before about my company's official "no meetings on Friday" policy. I find it rather funny that since the policy was implemented, there are now more meetings on Friday than any other day of the week. Does this operate along the whole reverse psychology line of thought? It's like telling kids "don't play ball in the house", or "stay away from the lamp on the end table". Those kids are going to play ball in the house, and they're going to mess with that lamp. Most likely, they're going to break the lamp with a ball they've just thrown in the house. It's the same thing around here then, I suppose. Management (the corporate mommy) says "now kids, don't you schedule any Friday meetings", and suddenly Friday meetings spring up everywhere. Of course, I'm partially to blame, as I have personally scheduled a meeting for this afternoon. But it should be short, and it had to be done since we're on such a tight schedule. *shrugs*

I want to go back to bed. Yes, that would be nice.

then / now