in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-19-02 // 10.50 am

we'll paint this planet red

NP: Divine Comedy - "Regeneration"

Erin and I are home sick today. Not sure what we have, but it's some sort of allergy/head cold/maybe flu type deal. I'm feeling better today than I was yesterday, but Erin is worse today than yesterday. She's napping right now...I'm drowsy and worn out but not sleepy, you know? So, yeah. I called in to work and told them I couldn't come in. I wouldn't have been effective. Not to mention the fact that I came in on Saturday when I had a sore throat and my head hurt.

Anyway, I'm laying here in a bathrobe, sniffling, and typing. As to not totally waste the day, I have a ton of laundry in the dryer downstairs. I made us tea and toast for breakfast, that was nice. Should do the dishes later, and I'll probably get some reading in, too.

I'm currently reading "How to Be Good" by Nick Hornby. It's an odd novel, partially for the fact that it's a bit of a departure for Hornby. His novels, if I had to characterize, are usually about guys and their things, whether it's insecurity or other emotional issues, or their things Football, records, etc. This one's different, though, it's about marriage and infidelity, belief and weird faith healers, trust and relativity. But it's a great read, and it's turning out to be much better than I thought when I first picked it up. Something I just noticed, incidentally. All of his novels are set in the same place -- Holloway, North London.

Weekend was extremely busy, but it was great seeing my entire family. Everyone was in, even all of the Californians. Grandparents seemed totally thrilled at the display, as well as just having everyone there for the first time in a year. Felt bad about dropping Erin into the middle of all of that (my mom is one of six children, so there were six families, many with kids, as well as my grandparents)...I know she's not used to it like I am. I mean, I hope she feels welcomed by everyone, because frankly, they all think she's fantastic. But like I said, I can see how she'd be intimidated. In any case, with this weekend more or less a wash, I've already declared this coming weekend to be of the "no plans, no obligations, not doing anything at all that we don't want to do" type. I think we deserve it after how busy we've been lately.

Today I think I would like to watch "Kicking and Screaming", eat soup and a sandwich, and recover/relish having some down time. Even if it is sick time.

then / now