in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-18-01 // 12.16 am

I'll be deaf as a post

NP: Elbow - "Asleep in the Back"

For another four months, I'm still a university student. But helping my sister move into her dorm today, I realized just how removed I am from student life. Maybe it's 'cause I'm holed up in my apartment & haven't lived in a dorm for a few years now...or maybe it's because I'm four, almost five years older than the people who are now entering as freshmen. But for whatever reason, I don't belong here anymore. I'm not so much lamenting a loss as much as I am getting anxious to leave this all behind.

I have to drive back up to St. Louis tomorrow for my cousin's wedding. I'm really looking forward to seeing my aunts, uncles & cousins flying in from southern California, but I wish this was happening next weekend or something. It's crazy that I had to come back down here for a few days, only to have to go back up for a few more, then come back down Sunday evening.

I got new tennis shoes today. My old pair bit the dust months ago...I'd been wearing sandals & flip-flops all summer, except for when I went to work. Then it was dress shoes. But yeah, now I'm hooked up back with New Balance. Best shoe ever. Not to sound like a damned commercial, but these are like freakishly sturdy shoes. I walk like three miles a day, and I used to go through two pairs of shoes a year. A pair of New Balance lasts me like more than a year. These things must be manufactured by the same people who make Sherman tanks. Except the shoes are way more comfortable.

OK, I should end this now. I could go on about how last night I ate the best salsa I've ever had, but I don't think anyone cares about that.

then / now