in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-21-01 // 1.34 pm

por que voc� n�o me deixa em paz?

NP: Legi�o Urbana - "Que Pa�s � Este"

The city has crews out there tearing up the street I live on. It's been going on from right outside my window, all the way up to where the university campus begins. So for the better part of two days now I've had to dodge dump trucks and this gigantic thing with treads & a big swivelly spout deal on the top. It's loud and its only apparent function is to scrape the top layer off the pavement for no reason at all and then rumble away.

In about an hour I have a second interview for a part-time job. It's nothing much, I'd just be working setting up and dismantling meeting rooms at the student union. But still, I hope I get it. It beats janitorial duties, that's for sure.

It occured to me last night that there's an entire month left before we even hit the official first day of fall. I don't think I'm going to last that long. I'm tired of glary summer afternoons & overgrown grass. I need a few cold, blustery days...the kind where the sky is several shades of gray & the clouds hang there above you as if they were only a few feet from the ground. That's what I've been fantasizing about lately. I can't wait 'til it gets here.

then / now