in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-23-02 // 8.15 am

free to wander, free to roam

NP: Peter Gabriel - "Up"

Well, like 7 songs from the album, anyway. Someone sent me MP3s ripped from an album sampler they acquired. Actual LP comes out near the end of September. It's odd finally listening to this new material...I'm not exaggerating when I say I've been waiting for this record for the past 10 years. I mean, there've been bits and pieces here and there..."Signal to Noise" with Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan on the MTV Awards, the "OVO" project thing, "I Grieve" and "Nocturnals" on soundtracks. But the new album, the proper followup, it's been a whole decade in the works. Before actually hearing these songs, I wondered if anything that came out could live up to my expectations. Like, after waiting all this time, would anything that came out be a disappointment? After listening to the new songs, I'm glad to discover that's not the case. They're good. Very good. A bit dense and not immediately obvious (much like the vastly underrated "Us"), but brilliant. I'm not sure there's an artist currently operating who has a better grasp of sonic texture and understated melody than Peter Gabriel. Now what I really want to do is see the tour for this LP. Though it looks like he's not coming anywhere close to here. I think the nearest show is Milwaukee or something ridiculous like that. Oh well.

I'm drinking a can of tomato juice right now. It's one of those mini-cans, like 6 ounces or something. Holding one of those in my hand makes me feel like a giant holding a keg. Tomato juice always reminds me of flying, of going on trips. They serve it to you from warm cans, and give you a cup of ice. Normally, having the juice over ice sounds kind of gross, but it's actually rather refreshing when you're in the air. The air is always so dry in the cabin. Hmm...looking at the nutrition facts of the can, I'm reminded that I really should start taking a multivitamin again.

It's quiet in the office this morning. Which is a nice change from most of this week, where the building was crawling with people. Managers and various higher-ups from the Virginia and Maryland offices, not to mention people from the base. I dunno, it was just lots of commotion, lots of people breathing down my neck. I have a few things to take care of this morning, then most of my afternoon is taken up by meetings. Yeah, more meetings on "no meetings Friday". At least this week I'm not responsible for scheduling any of them.

I'm worn out. It's been a long week. I'm not trying to be all "woe is me" or anything, but I've worked a lot of overtime, been under a lot of pressure from work. Both Erin and I have been sick, etc. It's just been a lot going on combined with the fact that I just didn't feel that well, that it's been a gradual uphill climb towards not feeling like I was just going to collapse. But it's almost the weekend. I don't think I'll have to put in any overtime today, then after taking Corona to the vet this evening, I'm free to rest. I need it.

I want to watch lots of Saturday Night Live reruns. I want to drink a beer, lay around on the couch, sleep till noon, read, listen to music, and curl up with Erin. I miss her, you know? Especially since she's home sick, feeling even worse than I felt when I was at the peak of my illness. I just want to stay home and take care of her. I know I have to go to work, and that it can't be helped, but still...

I should go and get some work done, now. Though what I'd really like to do is take a nap

then / now