in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

8-27-01 // 9.07 am

fables of the reconstruction

Eight thirty in the morning. I am jarred from my peaceful slumber by what? By a massive, yellow backhoe with a hydraulic jackhammer attatched to one of the arms. It puts down its little stabilizer feet & starts jackhammering away, all about 15 feet from my bedroom window. The jackhammer bit now seems to be over, but the machine is still out there digging up my street, throwing huge blocks of ashen colored concrete to and fro.

The backhoe thing has now been joined by a large, red dump truck. Is their ultimate goal to eliminate decades of advance in the fields of concrete and asphalt construction? Do they intend to rip up my street and replace it with something made of cobblestone? A dirt path? Oh, if I only knew.

Robyn called last night, it was great to hear her voice. She said it would be really nice if I came up for Labor Day weekend, so I'm going to come up.

Damn, it's time to get a shower...I nearly forgot I have a schedule to keep today.

then / now