in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-4-03 // 2.08 pm

where were you while we were getting high?

NP: Oasis - "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?"

This album's title track is probably my favorite song of theirs, and it always baffles me that nobody gives it props. Well, Erin does, actually, which is a secondary or tertiary indicator of why she rules so much.

Oasis kills me. Noel Gallagher is the pop world's biggest thieving magpie, and every instinct inside of me wants to loathe him for basically putting together a massive career by cobbling together bits and bobs of the Beatles and Stones. The lyrics are, for the most part, atrocious. But damn, when you listen to the songs, they just exude this "come on man, these melodies are easy, even if they are stolen" that is tough to resist.

Oh, and top Oasis memory: my last year of college, Jon got an acoustic guitar and actually learned how to play. We were at Carney and Todd's annual springtime yard party (keg tapped at 11am, natch). At one point Jon got out the guitar (I think to show some friends his progress), and he eventually started to play Wonderwall. He told me to sing along, and we did a sort of impromptu duet, with a bit of harmony, even. Sounds goofy and cheesy perhaps, but I thought it was nice.

So yesterday after work I came home, changed clothes, and went for a walk in Forest Park. I took some photos and I enjoyed the cool evening air and the calm of dusk. It was a very soothing hour, and by the time I was done, I had managed to shake off the crappy feeling I'd been carrying around with me all day prior.

Erin didn't get off work till 10 o'clock last night, which meant she didn't get home until a half hour after that. We ordered a pizza and hung out, but it wasn't long before I was beat and had to go to bed. Work in the morning and all that crap, you know... I know it's not her fault, but I loathe the shifts Erin's job gives her. If we're lucky, we only get one common day off per week (Saturday), she works till 9 or 10 on Friday nights, until 9 or so several other nights a week, and her usual Sunday shift is 10-5, effectively killing any chances for all-day plans. I dunno, it just feels like we only see each other in little short bursts anymore since our work schedules are so far out of sync. Plus, she's been scheduled for extra hours the past few weeks, including entire weekends. It sucks. I realize she had to go through the same sorts of things a few months back when I was working ridiculous 10-12 hour days every day, but still. Like I said, I'm not blaming her or anything, but I do wish her work would give her less late and weekend shifts.

Tonight, however, Erin and I have the evening to ourselves. We're going to the circus. Well, a fancy French-Canadian circus, but a circus nonetheless. I honestly have no idea to expect from this particular show. Ryan H used to watch Cirque Du Soleil stuff on Bravo all the time, but I think this is a brand new show, so it'll be a mystery to me. In any case, it should be entertaining, and I'm very much looking forward to going out on a "date" with Erin for the first time in what feels like ages.

Today is one of those sparkling late summer/early fall type days. You know what I'm talking about, with deep blue skies, those small, chunky white/gray clouds that hang around after a front comes through, a cool breeze and the warmth of the sun shining down on your shoulders. It's the type of day that simply cries out to be savored. Though of course, I'm inside, in a windowless, air-conditioned lab. I should be out there in that, not in here in this. Hrm. I wonder who truly is able to enjoy a day like this? Most adults are busy working, kids are back in school, and college students are attending class. I'm pretty sure the only surefire way to get to enjoy a day like today is to either be retired or to play hooky from whatever it is you're supposed to be doing. Sadly, I have too much to do today to cut out. But perhaps soon there'll be another near-perfect day and I'll be able to soak it all up. That's the hope, anyway.

Alright, time to get back to work and finish up the tasks at hand. Either way, I've made loads of progress today, and I'm in a fantastic mood, so yes. Later gators.

then / now