in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-6-03 // 10.52 pm

"that way there are checks and balances"

When I was growing up, I always thought it was incredibly lame when my parents would leave the front outside lights on for me if I had gone out for the night. They knew I'd be home really late, they knew I could take care of myself. But you know, walking down the road this evening and passing houses with front lamps blazing, I thought it just about the most comforting, inviting thing on earth. How could you not appreciate that? How could I have not?

Sometimes I look back at the me I was and shake my head. I'm sure one day I'll look back at the me I am now and do the same thing. But that's natural, if life wasn't a progression, if we didn't get wiser with experience, what would the point be?

Oh, and there are more photos corresponding with recent me-centric activity.

Goodnight.

then / now