in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-17-03 // 11.59 am

we destroy rock n roll

NP: iPod as random personal jukebox.

(The La's - Doldrums)

I like the idea of a failed experiment, simply due to the fact tht it proved that something isn't. I mean, succesful applications of the scientific method support an idea, equation, theory, method, etc. A failure rules out, or at least discredits, the same thing. People forget about that as an option sometimes, I think.

(Radiohead - Backdrifts)

I finished a load of testing at work a day or so ago, and since then I've been having trouble getting motivated. I've been doing stuff, but I haven't dove headfirst into anything since then.

(Manics - Motown Junk)

Do you ever wonder about those people in your life who just kind of fade away? I mean, for most people you no longer associate with, there's a reason for that. There was a clear incident or a general divergence in shared interests or viewpoints, that sort of thing. But there are always a few of those people who just gradually disappear for no good reason. I don't have too many of 'em, but there's a couple. I would love to track down Brian B. from high school, the last time I saw him would probably have to be the summer after my freshman year of college. He just disappeared, and there wasn't any reason why. Interesting.

(Blue Nile - A Walk Across The Rooftops)

I will now instigate revolution by standing up out of my chair and spinning once in a complete circle on my vertical axis. �Viva!

The guy who wrote the song Purple People Eater died today. From reading the AP wire story about it, he also wrote the theme song to "Hee Haw". What a world.

(Tears For Fears - Suffer The Children)

Tonight after work I'm having dinner with my parents. I think my mom is cooking meatloaf. It's interesting, both of my parents cook. They're not gourmets or anything, but they're both skilled and come up with some interesting dishes now and then. My dad makes this really great quiche thing that's possibly the best breakfast food ever invented. I'm also very fond of his deer kebabs, chef salads, and barbecue ribs. My favorite mom dishes tend to be traditional, but that's no knock as they're just about perfect renditions. Beef stew, spaghetti and meatballs, stroganoff, teriyaki chicken & fried rice. Great stuff, all of it, and to this day it's still a treat to sit down at their table for a meal.

(eels - Mr. E's Beautiful Blues)

Today I feel very carefree. I'm going to go for a long walk on my lunch break. Goddamn right it's a beautiful day.

then / now