in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-22-03 // 10.54 am

the devil bought the key to branson

NP: Jay Farrar - "Sebastopol"

I felt like crap all day yesterday, which hampered my enthusiasm upon Erin's return last night. I was so glad to see her again, but I was tired, spaced-out, withdrawn, and not very talkative. It pissed me off, actually, as all weekend I was getting excited about when I'd be able to pick her up at the airport. So hopefully she's not mad at me. In any case, I'm feeling much better today. Light years better, actually. In fact, on my way in to work I looked at my reflection in my car's rear view mirror and thought that the dark circles that hd been under my eyes were almost completely gone. You know, I think I've just realized that the fact that I think I always look so ragged might be partially down to the ultra-harsh flourescent lighting in my office. I always look like a mess when I look at myself at work.

So yes, I'm looking forward to seeing and hanging out with Erin tonight. Annoyingly, she has to work late, but what can you do? I'm hoping we can set up a "date" for later in the week, maybe meet for dinner one evening after she gets off work or one night she's off altogether.

I'm not even pretending that I'm going to get anything done at work today. I feel vaguely guilty about the fact, but that's just how it goes. Plus, I have two meetings to endure today, not to mention a peer review to run inbetween 'em.

I feel very boring today. I keep thinking of the banker from the episode of the Simpsons where Bart opens a checking account.
"Mm-hmm. Now sign these forms. I'm sure you'll find them more interesting than a weekend with Batman."

Now I have to get ready to "give my status". Woo.

then / now