in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-23-03 // 9.01 pm

tales from my head, can't buy the book

NP: Pulp - "We Love Life"

Can't believe I forgot today was the first day of fall. Shame on me. I mean, come on, I'm a weather junkie for Zarquon's sake, I should be more on my toes.

Games! I've been engrossed in various Gamespy articles about the 25 dumbest and 25 smartest moments in video game history, not to mention the lavish NES/Famicom retrospective. I must admit, as the PSX really started to hit, I was fading away from video games, and I never really recovered. However, to this day 8-bit NES gaming runs through my veins (I spent an entire summer of my adolescence playing "Super Mario Bros. 3"), and I was/is a hardcore Genesis junkie. I mean, there is a PSX and an N64 in our apartment, but those systems never did/will resonate with me the way the ones I grew up with did.

In my entry from earlier today I mentioned Salon's preoccupation with sending me free stuff. Well, I checked the mail when I got home from work today, and what do I see but U.S. News & World Report. That's three free magazine subscriptions. Amazing.

I've felt very productive this evening. I did a badly needed sinkful of dishes upon coming home, and also walked up to the grocery store to procure dinner materials. That's left the rest of the evening for 'net surfing, music listening, and the futile task of watching the Cardinals (sound muted, natch).

Ah, I've just put on Neil Finn's first solo LP "Try Whistling This". It's funny to think that I bought this album (on the recommendation of the now-AWOL Adam H) way back in '98, before I'd even gotten into Crowded House. In any case, it's a masterful album, and is commendable, not to mention better-off, for combining Finn's traditional mastery of pop songcraft and melody with some very uncharacteristic arrangement and production choices. It's easily on par with any of his C.House albums, though it took me ages to appreciate said fact.

I miss Ryan H. We swap emails several times per week, and we see each other in person every month or two, but still. He's been one of my two best friends for the past six years, and it's been really crappy to no longer be in close proximity. I realize there's only about a 110 mile long stretch of I-55 separating us, but it's not the same as living on the same dorm floor, in the same apartment, or even in the same town, you know? Still, rather than complaining I should appreciate the times that we still do get to spend together.

Erin should be home in about a half hour, I can't wait, both to eat (I'm starving) and to see and talk to her (haven't done either all day). For now me and my rambling ass are outta here.

then / now