in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-27-02 // 1.48 pm

let it pass let it go let it leave

NP: Peter Gabriel - "Us"

About five minutes ago, my day just got about a zillion times better. This insane issue I've been working on since yesterday morning is now resolved. I dunno, it was one of those deals where you just can't figure out what's going wrong, what's causing the error. You track down bits and pieces, but you can't link everything together to find out why things suddenly stopped working. But, yeah... I'm happy, I'm relieved. I was worried that we wouldn't fix this, and they'd make me come in on Saturday when all I want is to have a quiet, relaxing weekend. Anyway... This has been an extremely busy week, and I'm glad it's coming to a close.

A few weeks ago, before my parents went on their trip, Erin and I went over to their house for dinner, to drop off some things, and to pick up the last of my stuff I'd not brought with me to the new apartment. One of the items was a box of cassettes. I set it in the back seat of my car and forgot about it for a week or two. Though the other day, I noticed it again, and fished around in it to see what it contained. To my surprise, it was a cache of old tapes from my teenage years. Like from age 13 to 16 or so. It was mostly dubbed Beatles albums, and tape copies of CDs I'd already bought. So yeah, this week I've been having a blast listening to all this stuff on my drive to and from work...if nothing else, it's just been nice to have something different to listen to for a change. Oh, and I've sort of reminded myself how much I love the Beatles. I mean, yeah, nearly everyone loves the Beatles, but I'd forgotten how essential they were in my initial immersion into pop music. I was listening to "Past Masters Vol. 2" the other day, which is basically a compilation of non-album singles, b-sides and rarities from like 1965 - 1970, and I was completely blown away by the quality of the songs. Paperback Writer, for instance, or The Ballad of John & Yoko. And of course, my personal favorite, We Can Work It Out. Brilliant stuff.

I'm kicking myself for not having my digital camera in the car yesterday evening. Erin and I were driving to the mall after getting some dinner, and we noticed these bands of clouds in the sky...spiral-y clouds from the remnant of that off-course tropical storm. In any case, the way the clouds were swirling was mesmerizing, and the way the setting sun was throwing gorgeous reds and oranges was completely amazing. It's an image and a moment that I'll remember for the rest of my life.

Tonight is pizza and beer night. Tommorow, I'm sure we'll sleep till noon, and relax the rest of the day. Sunday is football, and most likely, brunch and Erin's grandparents' house. I'm looking forward to all of that so much. I'm reluctant to sound over excited, and I apologize for not having a better entry, but hey, it's been that kind of week.

then / now