in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-30-02 // 3.09 pm

sometimes I go indigo

NP: How We Live - "Dry Land"

I'm sure I've mentioned it before, but this album is absolutely perfect for listening to on headphones while walking around your town, your city. The urban imagery is wonderful. I suppose the LP is a minor work in the grand scheme of things, but for some reason, I've always been rather attached to it.

Not sure why, exactly, but I was fatigued and kind of headachey for most of the weekend. Well, starting about midday on Saturday, anyway. As a result, I think there was about a 24 hour period where I was cranky and such. I can't stand when I get like that. The thing is, I even know when I'm being that way, and I tell myself "come on now, shape up, stop being a jerk". But it doesn't always work. Either way, I think an evening of relaxation last night, and a good night's sleep did the trick. I feel back to my old self today, which is a very good thing.

I've never had any trouble with Best Buy, but after Saturday, I don't want to set foot inside one of those stores for quite some time. Here's the scoop. Erin loves The Sims, and it's been running a bit choppily on my computer, as I was a bit low on RAM. So, on Saturday, Erin bought the new Sims expansion, and I set out to buy a new stick of RAM. Here is what followed:

Trip #1: after consulting with the guy behind the counter in the computer section, I purchased a stick of DDR RAM. Didn't sound quite right, but I trusted the man in the blue shirt since I couldn't remember what kind of RAM my machine takes. Anyway, we got home, and I opened up the PC box, to discover that the RAM didn't fit the slot, and that I needed PC100 RAM.

Trip #2: I return to Best Buy to exchange the RAM for the correct type. I get to the exchange counter, only to realize I've grabbed the wrong receipt. After me corralling the salesman to prove to the guy behind the counter that I had, in fact, just been in there, hey were going to do the exchange anyway, but they'd only give me the lowest list price, which was like twenty bucks lower than what I'd paid just half an hour earlier. So I returned home for the correct receipt.

Trip #3: With proper paperwork in tow, I return to the store. I tell the same kid behind the counter "you sold me the wrong RAM, I need 128MB of PC100". He says they're out of that brand at those specs, and he hands me a stick of 128MB SDRAM, which he claims is backwards compatible. I'm wary, but I decide to trust him once again. This turned out to be a bad move. I get home, and despite the fact that this stick fits in the slot, I get errors when the machine boots up. Not to mention the fact that any time the computer tried to do anything that used the extra RAM, it'd reset itself. So after consulting with a friend of Erin's, I headed back to the store to insist on nothing but PC100.

Trip #4: I'm back at the store. They're still telling me they're out of PC100 RAM in the cheap brand. After about 20 minutes of "checking in the back", they say that they're definitely out. They sell me a stick of more expensive PC100. Turns out to be only five bucks more, though, not the $25 or so the guy behind the counter said. Drove back home, put the RAM in the computer, and things worked wonderfully.

So now Erin's game runs better, she can play the new expansion, and she's happy. Which makes me happy. I'm really not even that annoyed about the whole ordeal, I just thought I'd document it, as I thought the entire process was fairly absurd.

I drank more this weekend than I think I've drank in a very long time. I don't even want to think about beer again for at least a week. At least Erin's friend Theresa had a good 21st birthday.

I apologize for the fact that this entry probably doesn't flow particularly well. Come on, it's Monday, cut me some slack.

This day has absolutely flown by. Less than two hours to go at this point...I can do that. Today is a day for smiling.

then / now