in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-28-03 // 8.31 am

"where was the hamburger invented at?!"

It's 7-something in the morning on Sunday and I'm sitting on the couch in the living room with what I can only assume is a slightly sprained ankle. About midafternoon yesterday it just started getting sore, leading to last night where I could barely walk. I'm not sure if it's just due to my starting back up with a fairly hardcore walking regimen, or if it's related to me slipping and falling on a wet pavement (what am I, a retiree?) on Friday night outside the supermarket. Anyway, I woke up this morning at 5.30 in excruciating pain and couldn't fall back asleep. Popping some Excedrin and applying a warm compress has made me feel a bit better, though I still can't really apply any pressure on my right foot. Locomotion basically involves hopping around on my left foot and securing myself on walls and any furniture in the vicinity. So here I sit, watching "White Men Can't Jump" (I just now realized the irony) because nothing else is on.

Heh, I just had to hop to the bathroom, and in the process I found this flimsy bamboo cane from my Colonel Sanders Halloween costume of a few years back. It's not much help me actually walk, but it's good for leaning on whilst I hop as opposed to walls or furniture.

An ad for the civilian version of the Humvee just came on. "Destroy the environment in opulence." I really do hate those things with a passion. I have similar feelings for "The Man Show". Ugh.

Went to my aunt Sue and uncle's Ray's house yesterday evening for my cousin Alex's birthday. He turned 17 yesterday...17! Alex is great, we've always been very close. He's more or less a brother to me. I mean, I'm very close to most of my mom's side of the family, but you know. In any case, it was a nice time -- at out on the back porch watching gray clouds swirl around, feeling a cold breeze blow; ate far too much & saw a lot of my favorite people. Talked a lot to Alex, too. He's got his head screwed on straight, which is always refreshing. Oh, and before leaving town (my aunt and uncle live in the same village as my parents), I stopped at my mom & dad's and finally rescued my Genesis and the rest of my NES games. Rock on. I'm gonna get my archaic gaming on at some point today. I will school any one of you in "Golden Axe" or "NHL '94".

I am supposed to make further familial rounds today. Plans to go to Erin's grandparents' place for the Rams game at noon, and then for a gathering at my grandparents' (dad's side) at like 3 or 4. If my ankle stays as OK-ish as it's feeling right now, I'll still go. I want to go, I need to go.

Alright, perhaps now I will hobble my way to the kitchen and put a pot of coffee on. Maybe I will also eat a piece of cold pizza. Either way, that's all I wrote.

then / now