in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

9-30-03 // 9.44 pm

I have not been to oxford town

NP: David Bowie - "Outside"

Surely I'm the only person on the planet who loves this record, I've never met another. And I'm talking about of the 13 non-interlude songs, 11 or 12 are fantastic tunes. In any case, if there are other fans out there, they need to contact me so I know that I'm not off my rocker.

Ah... It's cold and damp outside, the sort of wet fall night that can easily chill you to the bone. I'm sitting around, listening to music, drinking a pint of Bass, watching the Cubs/Braves playoff on muted TV, and finishing up that massive tome of an issue of the Riverfront Times. All of those things, along with the fact that I feel warm and cozy in sweats, are combining to make this a great evening. I'll probably put a pot of tea on later.

The Galaxy recently closed down...I just learned this. It's not like I was ever a regular or anything, but still. In its latter days the club was mostly taken over by continuous 'fetish nights' and residencies by local pop-punk bands. It slowly faded away, which belies its once proud reign as a top club for both great local bands and regional and national touring acts. Radiohead played there on the "OK Computer" tour, for crissakes! I saw Doves there on their first US tour, before "Lost Souls" had even gotten a US release & anyone but the city's most hardened Anglophiles had heard of 'em. I saw and loved local act Red Squares there during an otherwise interminable night out with college friends. I saw jam bands with my non-roommate Rich, and drank impossibly fresh pints of beer at the bar whilst waiting for half-baked opening bands to finish their sets. So yes, I raise my glass to extra long, extra narrow club with the stage in the completely wrong place.

My ankle is doing much better today, thankfully. It's still sort of stiff, and I can feel that it's not nearly 100% at this point. But the endless pain is gone, and I can pretty much walk normally, save for a small limp. Hooray.

Hrm. Nothing much else to say at the moment except that I'm very, very happy...and that's what truly matters, innit?

then / now