in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-6-01 // 6.08 pm

we'll meet again someday on the avenue

NP: Bob Dylan - "Blood on the Tracks"

I had a good time on the date with Shelley last night. Seemed like she had fun, too. The end of the evening was a bit ambiguous, but whatever. Better to get out and have a bit of fun than to just sit on my ass for the thousandth night in a row.

My car's battery died...so I had to call AAA to get them to give me a jump so I could get to the auto parts store. Bought a new battery and changed it myself. There's another fifty bucks swallowed whole...ah, I can't wait to get a newer car.

Because of the battery problems, I wasn't able to go today on that canoe trip with my parents. I felt really bad about it, 'cause they were really looking forward to having me come up. I was supposed to see Ryan, too. But oh well...I'll see him next week when he comes down for my fall break.

I went for a really long walk a little while ago. Going past campus kind of annoyed me, as it's swarming with parents and alumni...I think this is "family weekend" or something. In any case, people are here to see the football game and watch some concert afterwards. I'll steer clear, thanks.

There is absolutely nothing going on tonight. I called Sara to see if she wanted to get dinner, but she hasn't called back. I'm toying with the idea of going to a movie by myself, but there really isn't anything currently showing here that I want to see. Why can't "Ghost World" be on...why? I'll probably head to the grocery store in a bit and get some ingredients so I can make a curry for dinner. Mmm...vegetable balti.

It's a crisp, clear fall day out...the sky is a gorgeous deep blue. The sun's at that post-equinox angle where it casts brilliant late afternoon shadows. With so much beauty out there today, why am I in such a bad mood?

then / now