in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-9-02 // 11.49 am

monday, tuesday, blow a fuse day

NP: Marillion - "Anoraknophobia"

Another cloudy day out, kind of cool, looks like we might get a shower or two at some point. All I know is there's no more AC, no more fans running constantly, no more feeling like I'm being cooked alive.

The new Coldplay album is a thing of beauty. Not sure if I've mentioned that before or not, but it is. It's one of those things...you can just smell the progression. I mean, the arrangements are more robust, Chris Martin's voice now resounds with a confident swagger. On "Parachutes", the band sounded wary, and Martin sounded scared. I dunno, you can just tell they're in the process of becoming a very, very good band.

I thought we were supposed to have yet another useless "diversity" sort of thing today, but apparently it's next Wednesday instead. It just seems like a waste of time, this "diversity awareness" in an office that's mostly white males. For me, the most ridiculous thing about this upcoming deal is that the fliers around the office are asking us to bring "cultural dishes" and that we may "dress in cultural attire" if we so wish. I wonder if I can convince my boss that jeans and a t-shirt is my cultural attire?

I'm feeling very in control of things today, despite the fact that I'm rather busy at work. But I'm making progress, and I'm in a good mood, so everything's working out. Still, I'll be glad when it's the end of the day.

I'm not entirely sure, but I may have readdicted myself to caffeine. I did such a good job weaning myself once Erin and I moved in to our apartment and started getting (mostly) proper nights of sleep. Though the past few weeks, I've just had this taste for coffee. And I've been drinking like two cups every morning, at a stronger strength than what everyone usually brews around here. Ah, I'm so sad...

Recentely finished a very good graphic novel that Erin bought, called "Breakfast After Noon". It was really excellent, very English, wonderful characters. It's a good thing at least one of us has taste, as she brings home some very good books like that, things I'd never have noticed or came across on my own.

I think tonight we're going domestic...cleaning the apartment up a bit (my parents are likely coming over for dinner tomorrow night), cooking dinner, staying in and watching cartoons. A good recipe, if you ask me. Though, really, I'd go anywhere and do anything, as long as she was there beside me.

then / now