in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-10-04 // 7.26 pm

knocked a future shock crowbar upside my head

NP: R.E.M. - "Around The Sun"

This is rather good but not great, although so far I think I like more of this album (maybe about 75%?) than I do of "Reveal" (maybe about 50%?). Either way, I thought R.E.M. hit a huge stride with "New Adventures In Hi-Fi" (such an underrated album) and then "Up", of which I seem to be one of a half dozen people worldwide to really dig, and since then it's kind of been a bit of a holding pattern. But oh well, if R.E.M.'s days of experimentation with every new album are to be over, at least every three years we'll get a pretty good LP out of it. I suppose that's better than them all being total stinkers, even if it also means no more "Automatic for the People"s or "New Adventure"s...

One more thought, what the hell is Q-Tip doing on this album? I guess the same thing KRS-One was doing on "Out Of Time".

So Friday was mostly a wash, I helped Steve move stuff around in his storage unit, but that didn't get started until much later than he'd originally told me, so it was nearly 5 in the afternoon before I was on my way back home from north county. That all sounds really whiny, but it wasn't meant to be, I don't mind lending my friends a hand, I just thought it wouldn't eat up my whole day like that.

Saturday and today were mostly spent just laying around, listening to music and enjoying having nothing that I had to do. I listened to a lot of music and caught up on a bunch of mailing list type email that I've been neglecting for weeks.

Today is also the final day of my vacation, which saddens me greatly. The past nine days have been fantastically life affirming. Seriously, I felt more like myself this week than I have in months. I guess that's just how life has to be, you've gotta work, but still, I love these rare weeks where I get to do my own thing and make my own schedule. I didn't do some of the things I meant to do this past week (visit grandparents, take lots of photos), but I like knowing it's because I didn't end up feeling like doing them, that I had other things that I wanted to do and did them instead. Ah, the freedom.

Oh, the other day I noticed that in the past couple of months I've lost about 20 pounds, which makes me happy. Eating better, even more exercise than I had been getting, plus very little beer in the past three or so weeks have all contributed.

Cardinals/Dodgers game 4 on right now -- hopefully Los Birdos put on a better show than they did yesterday. I can't believe they let "Lima Time" handcuff them like that. Maybe they'd have scored some runs if they quit swinging at crappy pitches. Ahem. Anyway, here's to wrapping this series up tonight. Here's also to never again having to see Fox's "Diamond Cam". If I want views of players' shoes and legs from the point of view of a piece of batter's box dirt, I'll grind myself up into dirt and have it arranged to be spread in a major league batter's box.

then / now