in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-15-01 // 8.29 pm

I am nothing and should be everything

NP: Manics - "Generation Terrorists"

Last year my friend Bill (in Edinburgh) sent me a copy of 'Everything', a really great Manics biog. In the "Generation Terrorists" chapter, there's an interview with Nicky or James or somebody where they're talking about how they wanted the debut to sound like Guns n Roses' "Appetite for Destruction" crossed with Public Enemy's "It Takes A Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back" I always thought that was a fantastically insane thing to aim for...man, do I love this band.

This afternoon I went to Schnucks (Steve told me they have a Ticketmaster there...I never knew) to buy tickets for me and my sister to go see Live next month. I waited patiently in line, and was finally waited on by a gray-haired woman. She asked what I wanted tickets for, and I told her "the band Live at the Pageant in St. Louis. November 11th." After what seemed like five minutes of her messing around on the computer, she said something like "I have seats in section N, row 18." Now that made no sense, as the Pageant isn't set up like that. So I asked to see a seating chart so she could point out these seats. She brings out a chart of the Kiel Center...which of course was all wrong. She checked the computer again and it turned out she was trying to sell me tickets to see Tool. Er, nope...wrong gig, completely wrong venue. So I had her try again...finally, after having me repeat the name of the show about three more times, she got it right. Such an ordeal. And to wonder why I usually just buy my tickets online?

I found a band supply company that sells those Col. Sanders-style "T" ties through their website. So I ordered one...my Halloween costume is now just a fake mustache away from being complete!

Today in Music in World Culture, the professor talked about how a certain type of hat was the impetus in his decision to teach at the university level. Man, that must've been some hat.

I would like to marry Tina Fey (SNL head writer and "Weekend Update" girl) if it were possible. Rrrrowr.

I'm drinking a beer right now. Though it's starting to get all rainy, cold, and blustery out. I think later I'll need a cup of tea.

then / now