in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-16-02 // 9.30 am

but for now only our t-shirts cry freedom

NP: Fish - "Vigil in a Wilderness of Mirrors"

Haven't listened to this in absolutely forever. Maybe it goes along with the whole Scottish thing from yesterday. Hrm.

Today we have that ridiculous diversity thing. It's apparently "diversity day" across the entire corporation. We were encouraged to "dress in cultural attire", or if we don't have cultural attire, to "wear something from the college you attended". Barring that, there's also a note on the fliers that says "Hawaiian shirts are also acceptable". Whatever. I wonder if anybody bothered to bring in an "ethnic dish"? *rolling eyes* I even got a mass-mailed email memo from the CEO this morning. Joy. The whole thing makes me laugh, really. There's not much diversity at this office. There is at the Virginia and Maryland offices, which are rather large places, but here, it's such a small place that we don't get it. In any case, from 11am to 1pm today, we will be celebrating the diversity of a workplace that is 95% white male. I do think it's funny, however, that the few women around are some of the most powerful and in-charge people who work here.

Oh, and because there's no other way to reach her today...
I love you, Erin. I miss you like crazy...can't wait to see you tonight. Hope your day isn't too bad.

I'm kind of tired at the moment. I should go get a cup of coffee before I dig into work stuff. At least as much work stuff as I can get done before I have to go be "diverse"...

then / now