in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-17-02 // 10.39 am

get in line with the things you know

NP: Tears for Fears - "The Hurting"

The contrast in lyrical and musical tone in this album is remarkable. Musically, it's lush, highly melodic early '80s synth pop. Lyrically, it's dark...an exploration of pain and the psyche, all inspired by primal scream therapy. I dunno, it sounds fucked up but it's brilliant. Any band that can produce something like Suffer The Children (fantastically driving synth tune with sad lyrics about a neglected child) or Mad World (dancefloor friendly tune with the chorus 'I find it kind of funny, I find it kind of sad, the dreams in which I'm dying are the best I've ever had') is at least worthy of some attention.

Ugh. Feeling a bit dodgy this morning, for some reason. Not sure why, but I feel tired, despite the fact that I got like nine hours of sleep last night. My eyes are doing that "heavy and sort of burny" thing, and my stomach is at that crossroads between iffy and hungry. Whatever's going on, I'm sure I'll snap out of it, but still...

I'm at a bit of a standstill at work. I have like two or three things sitting here on my desk, I've done the analysis for all of them, but in order to write up my recommendation for implementation, I have to sit down with one of the chief engineers, so he can explain this new technique they devised but haven't really talked much about. So yeah...right now I'm just sort of in limbo. Though a little while ago, my tech lead came by and told me that starting Monday, they're going to put me on a high priority, two week release, which is interesting. Apparently it'll be me and one other guy working on this thing. They've also lined me up for a third project, when my current one, and the one I mentioned above are over. One one hand, I'm kind of nervous, because despite the fact that I have confidence, I can't help thinking "but what if I mess everything up"? But on the other hand, it's kind of cool that they apparently have enough confidence in me (and my work) to give me these things to work on.

Paying bills is one of my least favorite activites ever. It's the one-two punch that really gets me. First you have to spend your time writing out checks, detaching bill stubs, writing addresses, getting stamps, mailing the things off...and then you get the money sucked out of your checking account. Whoo.

Speaking of money, I'm annoyed that in my company's recent "hey! we're changing everything around in human resources just because we can!" extravananza (which included my first paycheck after the change getting mailed to my parents' house), payday got moved from Thursday to Friday. My direct deposit request finally went through, so now my money shows up Friday morning, but still. It was nice getting the paycheck delivered to my desk on Thursday morning. The change has messed with my schedule, etc. Grrr.

Erin and I cooked last night, it was great. It was kind of us just gathering up the remaining odds and ends in our kitchen and cooking it...so we ended up with a menu of such things as: hot sauerkraut, spaghetti with mushroom marinara sauce (and some with this tasty olive oil/italian seasoning/parmesan sauce that Erin came up with), mashed potatoes and cheese wrapped up in wonton wrappers and then fried (turned out as a pierogi-like thing, and it was really good), and I think some salt & vinegar chips. Like I said, it rocked, as did hanging out in the kitchen with Erin, which is, as I've mentioned, one of my all-time favorite things to do.

Today is Thursday. I can feel the week creeping by...I cannot wait till it's Friday afternoon, about 5pm. Right now, I just wish I could go home.

then / now