in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-22-01 // 8.11 pm

kick start my rock n roll heart

NP: Jimmy Eat World - "Bleed American"

No, I haven't become a 15 year old suburban emo kid (not that there's anything wrong with that). But a friend has been going on about this record for ages, so I figured I'd give it a shot. It's actually quite good, albeit a bit sugary sweet and generic in places.

Class all day today. Spent most of the afternoon writing C++ code...there's this horrible mutated binary search tree (w/fabulous single and double rotation capabilities) due later this week, so I had to do some serious work on that. Went to dinner with Marc and Danielle a little while ago. It was good to see them again, last time was at my party the other month. I'm riding with them (and serving as navigator on the way) up to Steve's Halloween party this coming weekend.

Right before I was getting ready to leave to go eat, the phone rang. It was my mom...apparently my dad wanted to talk to me but he was "too mad to even get on the phone". What it boiled down to that he was pissed off because an overdraft notice for my checking account got sent to their place. Which was a bit silly 'cause it was just a banking mistake, not a case of me being out of money and going around writing bad checks. Anyway, he made my mom call and I was basically getting mad at him for not asking me what was going on before getting mad, and for not just talking to me directly. Anyway, she told me to call him later in the evening, which I did when I got back. Things are squared away now, mostly. We both cooled down. My bankstatements and such are addressed to me alone, anyway, not that they even have any right opening that stuff up. But I didn't feel like feeding the fire any more for one evening. Sheesh.

It's funny too, earlier in the day I was just thinking about my dad. He's possibly the most hardcore workaholic I've ever met. I've never been like that...I mean, I value a hard day's work, and I have a very strong work ethic. But I also deeply value my down time. My dad spends his free time working. Anyway, this afternoon whilst doing my programming, I was thinking about how we are pretty similar anyway. Like with this program -- it's not due 'til Thursday. But I keep thinking "I gotta get this done this afternoon". I have to make myself remember that I don't have to do it all right here right now, that it's OK to take a break. In that respect, I'd say that I have a lot of my father in me, even if I usually don't think so. Which is no bad thing at all...there are few better men on this earth.

I saw Sara driving around this morning, I waved at her and she sorta waved back. Walking to class this afternoon, I saw her as I was walking past Grauel. She sort of ran into the building, guess she was late...as she got to the side stairs, I called out to her...she let out a big "heeeey" but then just disappeared inside the building. What an infuriating woman.

Everything is just super.

these are thick-rimmed cosmetic glasses for my halloween costume.

then / now