in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-29-03 // 9.45 am

promises worth repeating

NP: more iPod time. (Marillion - Sugar Mice)

This is still one of the most quietly beautiful songs I've ever heard. I sang it once at karaoke just because I really, really wanted to. I don't think anyone was interested, they just wanted me to do The Look Of Love again. But for me, it was great. Indulgent for sure, but also possibly the closest I'll ever get to being up on a stage singing a song I love just for want of sharing it with other people.

(Blur - London Loves)

Reason #132 for not living in southern California: it has a nasty habit of repeatedly catching on fire. Don't think I'm being callous, though, some of my close family live there, and I'm quite concerned that they don't burn up. I mean, I don't want anyone else aflame, either, but I'm particularly concerned about it not happening to folks that I'm related to.

(Counting Crows - Einstein On The Beach)

I had been feeling vaguely ill this morning, not sure what the deal is there. Erin was nauseous and tired last night, so perhaps I've got a touch of whatever she has. Who knows? I feeling better now, though.

Ryan S came by last night, and we drove up to the Royal China BBQ on Olive for some quality Chinese. Of course, we pull up in front of the restaurant and the lights are off. Plus, there's a big sign (in English and characters, natch) saying "Closed until December for renovations". Nooo! So instead we found a little hole-in-the-wall Indian/Pakistani place across the street and down the road a bit. At first I wasn't sure if it was even open. The lights were on, but most of the few tables in the place were pulled together for some big family feast. It mostly looked like the owner and his friends/relations having a huge dinner. So we cautiously poked our heads in asking if dinner was on, and it was, thankfully. The menu was a bit strange -- it was broken down by day and listed the three or so dishes available each day. The "Tuesday" listing wasn't too promising -- I was going to settle for some boring chicken thing, but at the last minute the owner informed us that the goat was also available. So I went with that, sounded good & I hadn't had it for ages. Turned out to be really well done -- goat meat on the bone in a light curry sauce, with a little bit of rice and some roti on the side. Filling but it sat well in my stomach -- I actually felt invigorated rather than sluggish afterwards. So yeah, after thinking about it and inspecting the menu they gave me to take home (!), the cuisine was more Pakistani than Indian, which is OK with me, as most of the other curry places in the city are more Indian leaning. It was a nice change of pace & definitely authentic -- like Ryan said, it actually looked like they just cooked family specialities, hence the lack of a "standing" menu.

(Get Up Kids - Red Letter Day)

Oh, get this! Ryan told me that Adam text messaged him the other day, and then they talked on the phone for a while after that. Just totally out of the blue, wanting to catch up. What the hell? It's been like a geologic age since any of us have seen or heard from him. We mostly just gave up trying, as it's really tough to try to stay in a friendship where the other party isn't trying at all, you know? But anyway, I was a bit skeptical at this re-contact, but according to Ryan, Adam was enthusiastic, not at all his usual blustery self, and genuinely interested in catching up. So hey, what the hell? There's no reason not to bury the hatchet if he's going to act civil again. Anyway, I think Ryan and I might meet up with him after work on Thursday, just chill out at his apartment (he lives like two minutes from my office) and/or get a quick bite to eat. It'll be cool. Though I have no reservations about saying "forget you" if he pulls his old shit again. I don't have time for things like that anymore.

(James - Getting Away With It)

Blah. I'm feeling very amorphous and what have you. I need to start seriously exercising again. I've been walking at lunchtime, sure, but I've also been eating very badly the last few weeks. Hrm. I was doing very, very well for weeks last month, eating less and better, and getting good workouts. Then I hurt my ankle and I totally lost my momentum. I mean, for a week or two I couldn't take my usual walks, and then afterwards I just couldn't get back into the rhythm. Ugh. In any case, it's time to shed a few pounds. I'm not that vain, honest, I just feel better physically when I'm a bit more semi-trim and quasi-fit.

(Peter Gabriel - Red Rain)

At some point today I need to convene a meeting for this new project-let I've been assigned to. Though I think I can get away with not doing so for a bit longer. I mean, my manager is out of the office, and I'm currently in that wonderful floaty area between projects where my involvement has waned to next to nil, and the new project is so disorganized and in the process of firing up that what work there is to do isn't very pressurized. So yeah, let the good times roll, and more coffee please.

then / now