in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-31-03 // 9.25 am

6th street, we love it!

NP: random iPod on parade! (Idlewild - Stay The Same)

Friday mornings 'round here when the workload isn't totally bearing down on the collective office are great. People straggle in late, some leave early, and there's just an overall informal atmosphere.

My brain feels creaky this morning. I'm hoping that a cup of coffee will help get the gears cranking.

(Randy Newman - I Love L.A.)

Yesterday, Erin called me a bit before lunchtime and convinced me to ditch work for the afternoon and meet her for lunch. Not that I needed much convincing, mind you. So I came just as fast as I could through the dirty air of my neighborhood (sadly, no-one will catch the reference), scooped up Erin, and we wandered down to the Loop and ate at the Arabic deli on one of the side streets. I consumed several chick pea based foodstuffs, we sat at a sidwalk table, talked, laughed, and soaked in an unusually warm October day. We also goofed around in the park for a while, before I had to drop Erin off at her work and heading back to my own office. I'd have preferred to spend the rest of the day out and about with her, but a few hours is far superior than none at all. Plus, it was smirk-inducingly neat to be hanging out with the woman I love when I should've been sitting in front of a damn computer monitor. Damn cool, and it's totally necessary to do stuff like that now and then.

(Radiohead - The National Anthem)

I've always secretly hoped that perhaps the UK would decide to ditch God Save The Queen and use this instead. "All rise for the crazy-ass improv horn section".

So last night Ryan S and I met up with Adam for the first time in forever. It was interesting. I mean, on one hand he was on far better behavior than he'd been in a long, long time. We were able to have actual discussions, not conversations where he always tries to prove himself right. I think his extended tenure in the air force may be curing him of that habit. Or at least toning it down a bit. In any case, he's still his blustery old self most of the time, but it was bearable, and it was fun catching up. Though I'm pretty sure I'm finally figuring out that Adam is one of those friends best experienced in small doses, you know the kind that you only see once a month or every other month, and that'll do you till the next time.

(Pet Shop Boys - Up Against It)

Tonight is Marc and Danielle's Halloween party. They only live in north county, and I'm always saying we should get together more, but I really don't feel like going. But it's OK, as I'm sure we won't be there that long, and plus it gives Erin another chance to wear her costume, which she's excited about. I dunno, I'm just ready for some quality chill-out time, considering last weekend was super busy, as was most of this week. Granted, the majority of that is my fault, but still.

(Live - Ghost)

I know I'll have some work to do before the day is out, but for now I'm just enjoying the quiet, the coffee, and the fact that it feels like I'm the only man in the building.

then / now