in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

10-31-04 // 5.04 pm

everyone knows it's a crying shame

NP: The Clash - "London Calling"

The new "legacy edition" mini box set of this album is amazing. If nothing else, the sound on the original album is stunning. The extra CD of the lost 'Vanilla Tapes' are crude but fascinating. I haven't gotten around to watching the accompanying DVD yet, but I will soon.

The first day after the end of daylight savings time always messes with my brain a bit. The extra hour of sleep was nice, but looking out the window just now makes me think "what, getting dark already?". Soon we will descend into the winter depths, where it's dark when I wake up for work and the sun sets just as I'm walking out the door to come home.

I think it's getting ready to rain, which pleases me greatly. I don't know why, but I feel like some rain today.

Last night was Steve's Halloween party, which was excellent in the usual way. My costume wasn't great, at least not by my previous years' standards. But oh well, I thought it was fun and I really like the new sport coat I picked up at Goodwill for the occasion. That may be one of my new favorite things to wear, actually -- sport coat/blazer/suit coat with a dress shirt & slacks, no tie. I notice that the 'no tie' look is coming back into fashion a bit, which is kind of cool, as I've always preferred it, and now I can get away with going sans tie to semi-formal type events. But I digress. Great party -- Erin and I brought John along, we didn't get there till 10.30 or something like that. Erin did a fantastic job on her "Statue of Liberty with a baseball bat" League of Pissed Off Voters logo costume. Spent most of the time just mingling and talking, save for a couple of rounds of Buzz. Saw Jack and Kelly, Marc, a bunch of Sarah's friends whom I hadn't seen for a while, etc. Oh, and Jared called from Utah which was great -- it's not quite a Halloween party without him. Anyway, at 2 o'clock in the morning the time changed back to one, and I think we stayed for another hour and change after that, drove home and slept like a rock.

The cat just hopped up on the couch and is now headbutting my leg. Now he's nudging the corner of the laptop's monitor. I guess it's the time of the week when he goes around and marks everything as "his". I'm not a free man, I'm cat property. Apparently.

I keep forgetting that tonight is actually Halloween. I wonder if this will the the year we get trick or treaters to the apartment? It's really weird, as there are loads of little kids in the various apartments in the complex here. But the past two years brought zero of 'em knocking on the door on Halloween night. All I can figure is that their parents take them down the road to the streets with proper houses on them. Oh well, there's still a bag of mini candy bars in the cupboard to hand out if anyone comes by, although those are rapidly getting eaten. So the kids had better hurry.

The Clash just ended -- now I hear the tinkling opening piano of "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway". It's nice to occasionally see this namedropped again, sort of as a begrudging acknowledgement from indie types that '70s art and prog rock wasn't all bad. You read similar things about early Yes these days, too -- King Crimson now and then, as well. Which makes me happy, as those are the bands (along with the Floyd, of course, but I've always thought them more from the psychedelic end of the pool than anything esle) from that era and scene that I have the most time for. Just make sure to keep any and all ELP records away from me.

then / now