in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-1-00 // 12.47 am

tell me friend, why do you stand aloof from your own heart?

NP: Pete Townshend - "All the Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes"

This record is exactly what I need at the moment. I'm still searching for my north country girl...

I should be going to bed now but instead I'm writing in here. So it's November now... I wish it felt like it outside. All I can say is that the weather had better settle into its normal fall patterns by the time Thanksgiving gets here. Few things are as annoying as a warm Thanksgiving (and Christmas). I could never live someplace where the weather didn't agree with me. Southern California -- forget about it. I can't live in a place where it doesn't rain and it's never cloudy or cold.

I had a rather long list of things to take care of today and I took care of them all. Now there's a new list of things that have to be done by Friday. I'm sick of lists, I'm tired of tasks upon tasks upon tasks. Right now I'd like to escape. I want to go lay on a beach somewhere with my discman, some beers, and a notebook.

Only one trick-or-treater came to my door tonight. I gave him a few of the mini packs of Oreos we had sitting around. He was also collecting canned goods for charity, so I gave a can of clam chowder that's been sitting in my cupboard. I actually had to look around to make sure I had stuff I could afford to give away. Such is the life of a student.

I watched the West Ham v. Blackburn match tonight, it was tape delayed due to the time difference, but still it was quite good. Fox Sports World decided to air the actual Sky feed -- I wish they'd do that all of the time. I'm just thankful that FSW has added Sky sports news to their nightly lineup.

Thanks to eBay, I recently sold (for a nice amount) the rarely-used Playstation that's been gathering dust in my closet. Also thanks to eBay, I finally tracked down an old-style Calgary Flames jersey (away version). Well, I don't have it quite yet, but I won an auction for one and it'll be here soon. Cheers to being able to find stuff like that pretty cheaply on eBay.

I really need to get to bed now. I'd love to be able to stay up all night writing & listening to music. But I have to be up first thing in the morning for class, as per usual. So I bid a reluctant goodnight.

then / now