in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-1-02 // 7.35 pm

friday: don't remember

I wanted to update earlier, but this day has been pure insanity.

First off, I ended up getting assigned two tasks that really aren't even my responsibility. Well, they thought one was related to a procedure I worked on, but I determined that it wasn't my code, it was someone else's that was causing the problem. Bitches...my code be rock solid. Word.

Oh...I got my Sun box today! UNIX-based goodness. Rock on. True, now I barely have any desk space left, but... UNIX! Solaris, bitches.

(erin note: Mike is such a lame-ass sometimes. "UNIX!" Anyway. He's also drunk. Which is horribly amusing. Maybe it's the fact that I'm also drunk. But you don't know Mike until you know Mike four drinks later. Anyway, come visit me, dahlings! *smoooooch* Ta!)

But yeah... I still have to go in to work tomorrow. Working on Saturday...that's like the biggest insult ever related to the 9 to 5 job. So yeah, I have to set my fucking alarm and go in on my day off, cancelling my plans with Ryan, all because of some code that's broken that isn't even my fault.

Yes, I'm marginally drunk right now, but so what?

On the plus side, our award fee at work for this quarter (the government rating on our contract that determines the corporation's profits) was 100%. Which is basically unheard of... All of which means, at some point in the near-ish future, I'll be getting a bonus. Not sure how much it'll be, but a bonus! Almost makes up for all that unpaid overtime. Almost.

I owe lots of people email. I'm trying to get to it, honest.

This just in: according to Erin, the Discovery Channel is "gay". "They're still talking about Venus", apparently. She also says that you need to drink Blue Moon. It's "tizzasty".

We just ate pizza and chicken strips, which rocked, considering before that, my entire daily food intake consisted of some pretzel rods, and a packet of Cheez-Its. Ugh. What a day...

You know it's Friday night when it's 7.30 and we're already in our pajamas. I'm wearing sweatpants and a undershirt, and Erin's in her bathrobe. I was at the grocery store earlier, and some woman was talking to some guy about how she was going to a party later, and how she had to pick up this stuff first. Nah. Pizza, beer, and TV...that's where it's at.

Erin wants me to tell you all how great Corona (our kitty) is. But she's not as great as Meowie (kitty prime).

Corona is on my back right now.

Ooh, Iron Chef is on later. Wheat noodle battle. You best respect.

I should stop writing now. I need another bottle of Budweiser.

then / now