in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-2-01 // 8.46 pm

gertrude stein said that's enough

NP: Idlewild - "100 Broken Windows"

I noticed something earlier that I just had to share. I picked up a handful of loose change out of the dish on my chest of drawers, and stopped to examine a new state quarter. In any case, it just struck me how small a quarter seems now. I guess I just never thought about it before...but when I was a kid, a quarter seemed really large. Back then they also still made silver dollars, and half-dollars were still in circulation. One of either of those felt like a discus in my tiny child's hands.

Payday today. I put some in savings but I kept enough out to buy a new album. Hooray. Went to Target and the grocery store earlier this evening...had to get stuff like trash bags, dishwashing liquid, and beer. Ah, the joys of adulthood. So now, having watched all the "Star Trek: the Next Generation" reruns one man can watch in one day, and having read the latest issue of Discover...I'm here in front of the computer with a bottle of Red Hook ESB. And with absolutely nothing to do for the rest of the night.

I'll probably be spending most of this weekend doing coursework. Presentations need to be organized, plus I have to do some writing for my research paper...plus there's that nearly thirty question problem set the professor assigned the other day in prob/stats. Only about six more weeks of this crap. I keep repeating that...it's become my mantra.

I'm extremely tired and I desperately need a shave.
I'm lonely and completely sick of being where I am.

I'm ready for things to change.

then / now