in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-4-02 // 11.32 am

ready for the gridlock, ready to take it to the street

NP: U2 - "Achtung Baby"

Heard Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses playing in the supermarket the other night, which was kind of odd.

The weekend went by extra quickly. I realize that I only worked half the day on Saturday, but still. Yesterday was already Sunday, and now I'm back at this desk. Ugh.

Erin has a job interview today. I'm wishing her all the luck in the world...but I say that knowing that she'll do just fine regardless.

The great trap of work is thus: if you're slow, or if you deliberately take your time getting things done, you can be harassed into working faster -- i.e. working nights/weekends/etc. Though if you're fast, efficient, and good about getting your items taken care of, they'll just try to shovel more work onto you.

My coworkers are going to Red Lobster for lunch. For lunch? Yes, they do this once a week, usually. I have nothing against seafood (though I'm not a huge fan of the Lobster itself), but it seems an odd choice for a workday lunch, simply because they're usually gone for at least an hour and a half. I suppose if you don't mind staying at work till like 7 o'clock to make up for the time you're out, that's cool. But I don't, you know?

I think Erin and I are going to see Tori Amos at the Fox next month. It seems they have pretty good seats left (i.e. ones where you can actually still make out what's going on), so I figured we'd go for it, considering we haven't been to a concert since Ben Folds in June.

Oh, and one more thing. I invite you all to take today's poll. Listening to today's musical selection has prompted me to think about all of the incarnations Mr. Paul Hewson has gone through over the years. Please choose which you most prefer. Thank you.

Bono vs. Bono.

Which Bono do you prefer?

boy Bono (the early days)

mullet head (from "War" up to and including Live Aid)

righteous zealot ("The Joshua Tree")

fake cowboy ("Rattle and Hum")

The Fly ("Achtung Baby")

MacPhisto ("Zooropa")

Village Person ("Pop")

greaser / The Fly, Mk. II (current)



Current Results

then / now