in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-8-01 // 10.13 pm

france...we come from france

NP: Air - "Moon Safari"

If there's one thing the French know, it's how to make vaguely fey, futuristic-sounding synth-pop/lounge music. Apparently. I remember when this album came out and the video for "Sexy Boy" was on M2 all the time. Used to freak me and my friends out, what with that creepy floating stuffed gorilla wearing a t-shirt and all.

Had class this morning. I found that the hour and fifteen minute class period went by unusually quickly...for whatever reason, I seem to have found the lecture on sort algorithms rather interesting. Worked this afternoon...about an hour 'til quitting time, a cold front rolled in, bringing with it low gray clouds, a chilly wind, and this strange, spitting rain. Made me wish I'd had the foresight to bring a jacket. Got off work, came home & ate dinner...took care of some coursework-related odds and ends, then watched a bit of TV. Now I'm here. Drinking a beer, listening to music and just messing around the apartment.

Ran into Sara today. Talking with her is just such a chore anymore. Seriously, if devoting even five minutes of her life to conversing with little ol' me is too big of a hassle, well then whatever. Seriously, in about five weeks I'll graduate and you know, leave town forever. That sort of thing. If she can't be bothered to spend time with me while I'm still here...well, I guess this wasn't much of a friendship to begin with. And yes, I'm well aware that I should be telling her this & not just pouring the words out into cyberspace. But to talk to her I'd first have to get her attention for more than a nanosecond.

Ah, those wacky, irrepressible French, with their cheese and wine and bizarrely spelled Latin-derived romance language. Which reminds me, a few weeks ago I watched a documentary on the history of the Eiffel Tower. But that's a story for another day...

then / now