in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-11-04 // 8.47 pm

turn the lights out when you leave

NP: Elton John - "Peachtree Road"

Driving home from work tonight, I had on KMOX so I could listen for traffic reports. At one point, just as crossed the river, the announcer mentioned how nearly 1200 American, British and other 'coalition' troops have been killed in Iraq since the start of the war. He soberly read the names of all of soldiers from the KMOX listening area who had died. Halfway through the list I was consumed by rage and tears welled up in my eyes. The names just didn't stop coming, and with each additional one came yet another realization that they all died in vain. Each one of those men and women should've been home today in cold, rainy, windy, miserable Missouri and Illinois.

Of course, the announcer didn't mention how many Iraqis have been killed. He didn't mention them at all, not even in passing. He just hit a button which played a horrible AOR sounding anthem about "patriots dying for American freedom". I had to shut the radio off to keep from crashing my car in disgust.

I suppose what I'm trying to say on this Veterans Day is that I wish I could say thank you to every single man and woman who put the defense of this nation ahead of their own personal saftey and well being. I just wish so many of them hadn't had to die for stupid, stupid reasons, past, present and I'm certain in the future.

then / now