in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-12-01 // 8.27 pm

a robot heart for a theme park world

NP: Matt Good Band - "The Audio of Being"

I swear, this has been the longest day ever. Three classes, as per usual. In one, we had a guest lecture on artificial intelligence given by a guy who looked like Dave Gahan. And he had a tattoo of the symbol "pi" on his arm. Man, that's hardcore CS. So, aside from class, I've just been making phone calls, going to the library, doing research, and sitting down to write yet more of my far-too-massive term paper. I'm up to about six or seven pages now...about halfway done. To top it all off, I've been feeeling extremely tired all day. Right now I just want to wander over to the bed and collapse. But I can't, I have to write. Only about four and a half weeks left of this, thankfully...

This afternoon, on my way to Brandt, I said "hey" to this girl walking across the street from me. I thought she was someone I know... So, after getting this girl's attention, she says back to me "uh, yeah?" and just stares at me like I'm the biggest idiot on the face of the planet. Only then do I realize that this isn't who I thought it was, but instead some totally random girl just walking down the hill to a class or whatever. I am such a spaz, I just cannot believe it sometimes.

My roommate has been hacking and coughing a lot the last few days. I guess he's sick, I don't know. What amazes me is that someone who gets high off cough syrup (drinking whole bottles at a time) can have a cough. Fucking unbelieveable.

Ugh. I wish that right now I had someone to curl up with on the couch. Just lay there & watch a movie or something...run my fingers through her hair and relax. I would love to feel at peace for a moment...forget that I have a headache, forget how much I have to do in the coming weeks, forget that a goddamn plane crashed into a goddamn neighborhood this morning. I'd like to be able to block each and every extraneous thought and stimulus out...just once.

Seattle, S�o Paulo, Salt Lake.

then / now