in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-15-01 // 1.50 pm

some folks' lives roll easy

NP: Paul Simon - "Still Crazy After All These Years"

What a crazy last couple of days it's been. Tuesday evening, I lay down on the couch and I feel a sharp pain in the left side of my chest. I sit up and it stops...I don't think any more of it. That night, about one in the morning, I lay down to go to sleep. I get the pain again, left side still. I sit up and it goes away...I lay on my back or on my right side and it stops. After what seems like forever, I fall asleep. Wake up in the morning, and there's tightness in my chest. Not really feeling too much pain, but occasionally there's a little. I walk (not the best idea in retrospect) to the clinic on campus...I feel short of breath and like my pulse is racing on the way over. So the nurse at the clinic looks at me...gives me this lung volume test thing & says my lung capacity is somewhat down. Said maybe I was having an allergic reaction to something in the air. So they administered a nebulizer, which really made me feel better. Got rid of a lot of the pressure, and apparently it incresed my lung volume a lot closer to where it should be. So I came home, got a sandwich, and went to the library to study for my Data Structures exam. Came back later in the evening and sat down on the couch to watch some TV. I just couldn't shake some of the tightness in the left side of the chest, and I don't know if it was my imagination or not, but my pulse felt like it was racing. So I just figured better be safe than sorry and went to the hospital. They checked me out (X-ray, blood test, EKG) and said all was well. Well, I got some sleep last night and I felt a lot better this morning. I still feel like my lung capacity is a bit less than normal, but most of the tightness is gone. I've had a bit of a headache today, but some aspirin and a nap seemed to help there.

So I took my exam this morning and I think I did pretty well. I have another exam tomorrow, this time in prob/stats. So I have to get studying at some point today. At least I got the day off work to rest, so I have more time to work with. Still, I can't wait for the weekend to get here.

So now I guess I should get moving. I have to drive back over to campus and since I missed class yesterday, get my graded assignment back from my prob/stats professor. At least I can take comfort in the fact that graduation is exactly one month from today.

then / now