in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-15-02 // 10.48 am

in the middle of a dream I call your name

NP: "Rushmore" OST

My stomach is crying out "why, oh why, did you you just drink that 20 oz. cup of gas station coffee?". It's gurgling and, from what I can gather, not pleased in the least. Eek. Though I also ate a banana, so maybe it's the coffee/banana combo that's causing the rumbling.

There have been several separate instances this morning referencing the new guy they're permanently hiring to do Cardinals radio broadcasts, ever since Jack Buck died earlier this year. Apparently he's some guy who's been with the Colorado Rockies for a decade. But what gets me is the way the St. Louis Post-Dispatch worded it: "Wayne Hagin is expected to accept an offer to succeed Jack Buck in the Cardinals' radio broadcast booth". Succeed, like he's next in line for the throne. Though, I suppose if you've ever experienced the fervor with which people follow sports in this city, that's probably about right.

It rained yesterday on my way home from work. It was a slight spitting rain that generally gave way to a steady downpour...which of course meant that traffic kept slowing down. It's a directly inverse proportion, really. As the rate of rain increases, the average speed on city roads decreases. Ugh. I mean, I understand that it's important to increase safety by slowing down in wet weather, that's important. But to slow down to the insane, snail-like pace that people do? Insane.

Just confirmed: I'm a sucker for a harmonica solo.

I paid bills yesterday, and it feels like I wrote out a billion checks. I mean, it's really not that big of a deal, but it was a lot...cell phone, home phone, cable, electricity, gas, etc. Paying bills sucks. Though there is that small bit of satisfaction I get when I drop a big stack of paid bills in the mailbox, like it's the catharsis of the whole process or something.

This reivew of that new Nirvana best of compilation got me thinking about that band. It's odd, I think Kurt Cobain wrote some fine songs, and the band was definitely one of the most influential acts of the 1990s. But for the life of me, the band doesn't mean anything to me. Is that odd for someone who was 13, maybe 14 years old at the time when "In Utero" and such was exploding everywhere? Perhaps I wasn't quite old enough to truly identify with the made-for-teenagers angst inherent in the music. Or maybe I was more interested in the Beatles and R.E.M. at the time to really want to pay attention. My best friend at the time was incredibly into Nirvana...I remember him making me watch the their performance on "Saturday Night Live" one winter in 1993. All I know is that the band seems to have genuinely touched a lot of people's lives, that Cobain has sort of become held up as this "spokesman for a generation", and to me, all he remains is some guy who wrote some excellent songs. Hrm. I was pondering all of this earlier in the year, too...when I was in England, I was reading Nick Hornby's "About a Boy". In the book, there's a character (who was completely written out of the movie version), this early teenage girl who befriends Marcus. She's obsessed with Kurt Cobain, his lyrics and music speak to her. I sat there, on a wooden bench in a self-service laundromat in Evesham, I wondered why the "spokesman for a generation" never spoke to me? It's not like I'm complaining or whining "oh I got screwed" or anything, I've just always thought it was interesting, is all.

People have been cranky and confrontational in my office this week. Well, not to me personally, but in general. In the past two days, I've witnessed two separate instances of people arguing with and then getting pissed at each other.

It's Friday. My goal is to make it through the day at my own pace, to avoid being cornered by some higher-up who needs something done "urgently". Friday is not a day for "urgently". Friday is a day for easing into the weekend.

Tonight is "Harry Potter", it is being with Erin, seeing Ryan for the first time in forever, having fun and not being at work.

Oh, and before I forget, scroll down to the bottom of the page and register for Diaryland Meetup! It's a way to meet up with other diarylanders. if you're interested, you can fill in your information and location, and you'll be notified of other people in your area. Then, on a certain date (December 4th, I think), everyone who registered for a particular area gets together at the venue they agreed upon. So come on, wherever you happen to live (especially if you're in St. Louis -- we need more people!), click on the tag thing and join up, it'll be cool.

then / now