in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-18-01 // 1.20 am

inertia creeps

NP: Massive Attack - "Mezzanine"

Drove over to C'dale with Marc and Danielle this afternoon. Met up with Steve and Sarah, messed around town for a while. Went to Jared's party later in the evening. I had fun, though I'm still on the road to recovery from this past week's illness, so I was getting tired pretty quickly. I said I wasn't going to drink at all...I ended up having a pint of lager, but I didn't enjoy it much. But still, it was a good time playing "celebrities" and trying to get to know all the people Jared invited from his psychology department.

Right as we were leaving, Sara showed up with S.P. and a bunch of sorority girls, all decked out in enough trendy, slutty clothes to fill a million malls. I guess they'd been out clubbing or something. Anyway, it was funny...Sara really didn't talk to me much. She said hi as she came in, and we exchanged a few words in the kitchen, but otherwise... She was, however flirting with Steve, which didn't go over well with his wife standing just a little ways across the room. I'm getting to this point with Sara, really...I'm seeing through the luster. She's beautiful on the outside, but not much on the inside. I feel like I've said all this before...but anyway, I digress. So this is a bit tough for me to make myself swallow, as she occasionally has these bursts of utter kindness. At those points, she's the nicest person I know. I guess lately I'm just getting it into my head that the other 99% of the time...I don't have to take her crap. And that 1% effort really isn't much. So yeah, let her flirt, let her be flighty, let her make and break plans with me. Let her say she's my friend but not act like it. I've had enough. I'm leaving this town for good in four weeks. At this point, I'm not sure if I care if I ever see her again.

It seems like it's been taking ages for the nights to get cold this past week. They're calling for rain and a big cold front in the next day or so. I'm ready for all this hot, stagnant air to get swept out of here. I'm ready to start sweeping the stagnant bits out of my life.

then / now