in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-18-01 // 8.18 pm

the noise that you'll hear is the crashing down of hollow years

NP: Dream Theater - "Falling Into Infinity"

Spent a good deal of today doing coursework. First it was the prob/stats re-test, then it was two or three hours working on my term paper. The good news there is that at least now I'm like two pages away from having the thing finished. A few more hours tomorrow afternoon and it should be completed. Oh, and I also spent some time today getting my notes together for tomorrow's presentation in Physics of Star Trek. I'm giving a talk about current warp drive research. You did know that NASA is conducting research on this sort of thing, right? Seriously.

So now I'm drinking a pint left over from last night (and enjoying it, as compared with yesterday) and just hanging around. The Rams are on TV right now, actually...I can't believe I'm not watching. Maybe I'll tune back in after halftime.

I'm leaving for my parents' place Tuesday after I get off work. Hooray for Thanksgiving break. I'm so looking forward to it 'cause (a) I get to see family, (b) I get to have a gigantic, home-cooked, turkey-potatoes-stuffing-gravy-pumpkin pie best meal of the year, (c) I get to see Adam and Robyn and Ryan and J.R., and (d) I just get to relax for five days. It's neat to think that this will be my last-ever Thanksgiving break as a student. This time next year it'll just be a two day holiday -- not so much the huge deal it is when it's a reprieve from end-of-semester exams and papers.

I feel like I'm on the verge of something big. It's like everything is starting to shift, to maybe, hopefully turn in my favor. I've been optimsitic many times before, and usually the feeling turned out to be unfounded. But this time...I'm hoping and I'm wishing that everything's gonna go my way.

then / now