in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-21-01 // 12.43 pm

turn your life upside down

NP: Marillion - "A Piss-Up in a Brewery"

I got up rather early this morning, I had some things to take care of. Went to the county building downtown Belleville to get a certified copy of my birth certificate from the county clerk. Then I had to go up another floor to the circuit clerk to turn in my passport paperwork and fees. But anyway, now all that mess is taken care of. They said it would take no longer than 25 days for them to get the thing to me, so I'm set.

Several observations I made whilst in the county building:

(a) There are placards in the elevator area that read something like "convicts are not allowed on public elevators". I so wanted to pry one off and take it home with me, but I figured that would be a bad idea considering how the place is crawling with cops and security cameras.

(b) There is an excellent view of the cathedral nestled up against the hospital if you stand in the main atrium area on the third floor and look southwest. If you look out the window behind you while standing in line for the passport official, you get a great view down Main going east, over the tall buildings in the square and down the road, and over the foutain in the middle of the roundabout.

While I was in the neighborhood, I stopped in at the local army surplus shop (which apparently also now has a junk shop upstairs -- I found some cool old LPs up there). I ended up buying this way groovy olive green canvas carrier bag. Now, I don't want you all to think that this is some sort of lame affectation...I've not become some sort of pretentious hipster or emo kid. I got this thing for going to the UK, for riding the metro and stuff around St. Louis, for use in lieu of a briefcase for when I start back at work in February...stuff like that. So you all know I'm serious, I will hereafter refer to the bag as my "man purse". So yeah, it's a nice man purse...not too huge, but big enough to hold my digicam, a notebook, some pens, some CDs, my minidisc walkman & headphones, maybe a newspaper and some change.

I drank a lot of coffee this morning, a lot more than I have in quite a few months. So I've been a bit hyper, I think. Oh well.

In a little while I have a doctor's appointment. Tonight me and Ryan are going to Dennys for dinner. I'm gonna eat me some chicken strips. Yeah.

OK, time for me to get moving. Later gators.

then / now