in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-22-01 // 11.05 pm

no fire where I lit my spark

NP: Crowded House - "Together Alone"

"Distant Sun" is one of the most brilliant songs in the history of the world, is it not? I would like to live on a desert island with Neil Finn, where he would teach me the art of writing melodies. Though I hope that after I learned a sufficient amount, there would be a way to get off the island.

Went to the pub the other night with Ryan. Had a few beers, ate some food. Didn't make it to Denny's, but we're hoping to maybe do that tomorrow night. We also went next door to the arcade -- we played some pool and I played a few tunes on the jukebox. The guy working the counter came up to us and offered us a free game of laser tag because I had played The Who. "Substitute" to be precise. So we played some slightly inebriated laser tag, it was good. I came in 12th out of 27 players!

Thanksgiving today. My aunt had dinner at the parish center of the local Catholic church where she works. She said she did it because she didn't want to have to clean her house to have people over. It was kind of strange being in this place and not at someone's house...it was like going to a soup kitchen. But to be fair, it was a lot better than I imagined it would be. We had fun and ate tons of food. I think I'm still digesting now...I probably won't have to eat again 'til tomorrow afternoon. There was even a TV so we could watch football. Everyone came over to our house afterwards, we watched TV and played games and just hung out. Oh, and my aunts and uncles from California called and said hi since they couldn't make it out this year. Anyway, it was a great day. A great meal, time off work and school, and getting to see everybody. I would have liked to played a pickup football game, though. Oh well.

So now I'm just hanging out, trying to relax. Which to be honest, has been a bit tough for me to do lately. This last semester has just been so stressful, what with having lots to do classwise, having to make sure everything is good to go with graduating, making sure that my paperwork is complete for going back to work in a few months, getting my passport and all the other travel stuff secured for my UK tour in January. Did I mention that my family doctor thinks that the headaches and the occasional lingering chest tightness/shortness of breath may be due to tension? Makes sense, really. Though it's a bit odd, as I'm always a bit stressed out and I've never had this before. In any case, I hope all this goes away soon. I'm feeling much better, but occasionally it comes back for a bit.

I found some good LPs in one of the basement closets. I thought I'd previously grabbed all the good ones, but for some reason today I found Joni Mitchell "Court and Spark", "Chicago II", Cat Stevens "Teaser and the Firecat", and some CSNY best-of from the mid '70s. All in good condition, too. Rock on. Well, strum on I guess, considering the nature of most of those albums.

I think tomorrow me and my dad are going to investigate the antifreeze leak in my car. I also hope to finally get in touch with Robyn -- I left a message at her mom's place the other night but she still hasn't called back. I just really don't want break to be over. I know that it's only another three weeks of school after this, but I'm just ready to be done. Ah well, I'll just buckle down and do it. I always do.

I guess the next few days I'm just going to enjoy sleeping in my big bed and attempt to have a few lazy afternoons spent reading and doing nothing in particular. You've gotta recognize the good times when they present themselves to you.

then / now