in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-26-01 // 12.54 am

help me out here all my words are falling short

NP: David Gray - "White Ladder"

Apparently someone from my university found this here diary & read about a zillion entries. They searched with Hotbot...who the hell still uses Hotbot? In any case...whoever it is that's been reading, why not drop me a line and say so?

So the break is now over. I really didn't want to come back, not for three more weeks. But oh well, it'll be over before I know it. I did a last-second check of my term paper when I got back this afternoon, then I went to the CS lab to print it out. Finished. Well, I still have to give a presentation on my paper this Friday, but that's not a very big deal.

This afternoon, before I left my parents' place, I went for a walk. A couple of blocks from our street, I came across a turtle just sitting there in the middle of the road. Its head was peeking out from its shell. I picked it up to make sure it wasn't hurt...I didn't see any shell damage. So I picked the little fella up and set it in the grass on the shoulder of the road. I keep wondering if I helped the turtle along to where it wanted to go, or just put it back where it started from. Either way, I just wanted to get it out of the street so it didn't get run over. Some people won't stop for critters in the road.

Coming back into town today, I hit a huge pocket of congested traffic on Broadway. I'd forgotten about the Post-Thanksgiving Night Parade. Four and a half years here and I have yet to figure out the rationale behind this practice. Why have a parade on the Sunday after Thanksgiving, right as the sun goes down? It just seems like the wrong date & the wrong time of day. Completely confounding. Everyone who for whatever reason decided to sit along the parade route and watch was all bundled up as the streets were cast in shadows. Thankfully my apartment is a block or two off the main parade route, so once I managed to get around the huge blockades, I didn't have to bother with the thing any more.

This week I plan on eating as well as I can and also on getting back to a regular exercise routine. No beer this week, no sweets. Thanksgiving break was great & filling, but I can only stand being fat and happy for so long.

Now I should probably go get some sleep. I wish it was possible to just skip right over Mondays.

then / now