in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-24-02 // 10.22 am

I heard sinatra calling me down through the floorboards

NP: 87 Marillion songs on the iPod, set to random play.

This is brilliant, really. I basically took all of their albums, ripped my favorite songs (which was about 75% of all of them, to be honest), and shoved 'em on the iPod. I did the same with the Smiths yesterday. Yes, I'm a bit sad, but hey...

Went to bed at like 2.30 last night, and I woke up around 9 o'clock this morning, not able to fall back asleep. I can't stand when that happens.

No-one is on my IM list right now. Which isn't surprising, but still. Sunday mornings are usually really dead online.

Ugh. My head hurts a bit, and I'd like a cup of coffee, but I think we're out.

Going over to Erin's grandparents' house in a few hours to watch the Rams. I should do dishes and laundry at some point today, too. Not to mention that Erin got a flat tire the other day, and we really should look into getting the flat fixed, or getting new front tires.

Ooh, I only have a three day work week coming up. Thursday is Thanksgiving (which is a logistical nightmare this year -- both Erin's family and my family are having dinner at 4 o'clock), and I'm taking Friday off. You've gotta have the long Thanksgiving weekend.

The iPod is playing Sugar Mice right now. I used to sing that at karaoke night. Some girls a few floors up had a machine, and every so often they'd host karaoke nights in my dorm's main lounge. My friends and I would all go -- Ryan would do random Velvet Underground songs and things from R.E.M.'s "Fables of the Reconstruction". I tried a number of different things, but I actually seemed to have nailed three songs: Sugar Mice, There is A Light That Never Goes Out (the Smiths), and The Look of Love (ABC). After the initial time, people would actually always ask me to do the ABC song, apparently I was a pretty good Martin Fry. See, I've always thought I'd have made a good early '80s Brit New Romantic singer.

Hrm, I miss Ryan (Cape variety). It's kind of crappy that of my closest friends, three out of four live several hours away. So as a result, I don't see them more than once every two or three months. I suppose that's better than not seeing them at all, but still. I should make more of an effort to get together with the other Ryan (Illinois variety), though. It's not that we're not in touch, it's just that we keep playing phone tag, and we make plans but things come up. Like I've said before, it's particularly annoying as his girlfriend lives here in the city, so he's in the general vicinity fairly often.

Anyway...blah.

Heh, Corona is sitting on the couch with me. Well, she's on the arm that's right next to the window, where she usually sits. But still. I don't know where the other kitty is, he's probably perched in one of the bedroom windows, as per usual. Earlier this morning, I think they both got into the catnip, as they were racing around the halls, bouncing off of things and wrestling with each other.

Watched Manchester Utd. kick the crap out of my Newcastle yesterday. It's not often my team are actually on in a full match like that. But yeah, it was a disaster... I wore my striped home shirt out shopping as a show of solidarity.

I need to start exercising more (I already walk for half an hour on my lunch breaks), or at least stop eating so much crap on the weekends. Ick.

Erin's still asleep. I want to go back there and lay down next to her, but if I'm all awake like this, I'll probably just flop around and wake her up, too. Which I don't want to do. So I'm still just hanging out here in the living room.

OK, that's all for me for now. Later, gators.

then / now