in the city


latest / older / g-book / profile / d-land

11-27-00 // 12.20 am

whoa hey you, who said that, baby how you been?

NP: MP3s set on random play

Today I said goodbye to Adam. It was kind of low-key -- maybe in my mind I was making more of it that was warranted, I don't know. I won't see him again until at least May as he's not coming home for Christmas. It's going to be weird at the New Year. Thankfully I'll be able to hang out with Robyn over the winter break. It was just great being able to spend a couple of days visiting with the two of 'em...like I thought to myself the other day, don't look ahead to the stuff you perceive as bad, just soak up the good stuff that's going on right now.

The other night when I was still up at my parents' place, I didn't have anything to do, so I took a drive and browsed some of the record shops. While I was out, I went to the mall. I made that particular trip in order to eat at the Sbarro's in the food court-- that's some magnificent pizza. But much like he wrote about, the mall was crawling with teenagers. OK, it's been a while since I was fourteen years old, but what's going on these days? The girls are all wearing hooded sweatshirts or those big puffy coats. The guys look like rejects from from a pubescent music video shoot -- baggy pants, the backwards hat, designer shirt. Also, they all have mobile phones. What on earth for? But yeah, I sat there eating my pizza and it was all a bit strange, like somehow I was much, much older than I really was.

Also, over Thanksgiving break I noticed something. Down at school, living in the apartment, I can't stand spending a Friday or Saturday night just sitting around by myself. But if I'm up at my parents' house, I actually rather enjoy being left alone to hang around in my room for the night. I don't know what the deal is there, but that's how it works.

This evening, in my own haphazard manner, I hung Christmas lights in my bedroom. It's great sitting here on the computer with only the strings of colors & the glow of the screen filling the room.

In the morning it's back to the school routine, which is fine I guess. Right now my mind is filled to the brim with memories, old wants & current desires. To all of the girls who in the past have taken little bits & pieces of my heart, I'd really appreciate if you'd return them, it would make things much easier for me.

then / now